Business — FR
Drone Volt opens a centre in the Oise dedicated to high-voltage line interventions
A 50-metre line test bench at Mortefontaine
Drone Volt announced on 10 September 2026 the commissioning of its Powerline Center, installed at the UTAC test site in Mortefontaine, in the Oise, 30 minutes from Paris-Charles de Gaulle airport. The manufacturer of professional civil drones presents this centre as unique in the world and dedicates it to operations on very-high-voltage power grids. Four activities are grouped there: technological development of the offering, tests and demonstrations, training and qualification of remote pilots, and preparation of field operations.
The test bench was installed during the summer. It has 50 metres of line and accommodates one to four conductors, at adjustable heights of up to 13.80 metres. The inclination of the conductors can exceed 15 degrees, enough to reproduce configurations with steep gradients. Teams work there on flight close to or in contact with conductors, the installation of DLR (Dynamic Line Rating) sensors, the use of probes, the transport and positioning of equipment, and cable pay-out by drone.
These manoeuvres are repeated on the bench before being performed on a real structure. A line conductor sways and offers only a narrow attachment surface; the drone must land on it, attach a sensor, move along it, then take off again. DLR sensors measure the cable's temperature and its cooling by wind, in order to operate the line beyond its nominal capacity. Their installation requires direct contact with the conductor, without a basket or de-energisation.
The LineDrone announced for up to 315 kV, then 735 kV
The centre first serves Drone Volt Expert's Drone as a Service Powerline offering. This combines the LineDrone, an aerial logistics platform capable of intervening directly on conductors, with the test infrastructure, specialised remote pilots and operational deployment capacity. The manufacturer announces operations possible on networks up to 315 kV, with the next step covering lines up to 735 kV. The press release does not specify how many lines at these voltages have already been handled.
735 kV corresponds to the highest voltage level of Quebec's transmission network. Moving from 315 to 735 kV changes the insulation distances to be maintained and the electric field to which the aircraft and its electronics are exposed. For a grid operator, the argument lies in the continuity of the chain. The same company supplies the aircraft, qualifies those who pilot it and carries out the service. Interventions on conductors in operation require written procedures, up-to-date qualifications and availability of equipment and teams. A permanent test site places these three requirements with a single contact, with a location where a protocol can be validated before it is applied to a structure in service.
Remote pilots trained before intervention on infrastructure in operation
Training is one of the centre's four activities. The Powerline Center trains and qualifies specialised remote pilots before their intervention on electrical infrastructure in operation. Drone Volt aims for standardisation of procedures and mastery of manoeuvres close to or in contact with conductors, two points on which the safety of a job is decided before take-off. A remote pilot approaching a live conductor works on a structure whose shutdown is not trivial; the manoeuvre is repeated on the bench, at no more than 13.80 metres, before being attempted on the network.
The proximity of Paris-Charles de Gaulle gives the site a broader hosting role than the French market alone: remote pilots, grid operators and French and international partners can be received there. Marc Courcelle, chief executive officer of Drone Volt, presents the site as a stage in the development of the company's Powerline expertise, with technology, tests, training, qualification and operational preparation brought together in one place.
No headcount, activity volume or client disclosed
The announcement gives neither the number of people assigned to the centre, nor the target volume of flight hours or worksites, nor the list of client grid operators. No ramp-up timetable accompanies the 735 kV stage, and the cost of the infrastructure is not disclosed. These elements determine the centre's capacity to handle regular orders, beyond demonstrations and tests.
The press release names Sylvain Navarro for investor relations (finance@dronevolt.com) and, for the media, Manon Clairet and Antonin Violette at AYA communication.
← Back to home · Search · Suggest a topic · Lire en français / Read in French
